The government of Indonesia has changed its visa policy for foreign tourists (short visit) effective since February 1st., 2004.

Entering Indonesia without any visa is now possible only for the citizens of the following countries: Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Hong Kong, Macau, Malaysia, Morocco, Peru, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. A 30 days stay permit will be issued on arrival, free of charge, upon presentation of a passport, which is valid at least for 6 months. This stay permit cannot be extended or converted into another type of visa.

Visa on Arrival (VoA)

This service is now available for citizens of the countries other than above including Japan. Citizens of these countries will be able to apply for a VoA valid for either 7 or 30 days upon arrival by air in Bali, Jakarta and a few other international airports or by ship at a limited number of Indonesian sea ports. A 7-day visa costs US$10 and a 30-day visa costs US$25.

The VoA cannot be extended or converted into any other kind of visa. Also be aware that Immigration officials calculate the 30-day period as follows: your arrival day is counted as your first day, and you must leave the country on the 30th day.

For more detailed information about the VoA and how to obtain it, please contact an overseas Indonesian Consulate or Foreign Mission before departing for Indonesia. Address of Indonesian Consular Office in each country can be found at: www.deplu.go.id/?embassy=1